Bending the truth

Television means creating a new reality. Those words left me dumbfounded when I first heard them coming from the respected teacher who was going to teach me the basic principles of making television. What he meant: Bending the visual truth is allowed when it strengthens the (f)actual story.

The BBC got slammed for exactly that this week, and it was not the first time. As described in The Guardian: In a story about quintuplets the editor or reporter added the sound of crying babies, so was suggested.

Wrong! Unethical! Untrustworthy! Give us back that license fee!

Is that so, I wonder. Techniques make it possible to make the story more captivating. And babies cry, don’t they? Just not when the camera is on.

Check the following piece I filmed on an overnight trip to East Anglia. In it I bend the truth in one particular shot. See if you notice. First line of (Dutch) text: The United Kingdom is no longer the empire where the sun never sets…

In the comments below my journalistic lie is exposed. (My conscience is clear, by the way, so sue me!) Let me know if you noticed and, more importantly, whether you cared.

3 Responses to “Bending the truth”

  1. overdiek Says:

    The evening shot in the beginning was really a morning shot. So the sun is rising instead of setting, which I claim it does. Bad boy?

  2. Daria Says:

    Do’h! I was thinking it was something much more spectacular so, NO, I did not notice… You probably intentionally distracted us by translating the first line?!?

  3. overdiek Says:

    You must have an evil mind, Daria. But of course, fell for the trick.

Leave a Reply

